Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

The Works has been a whirlwind so far! I set up my exhibit in Sir Winston Churchill Square in downtown Edmonton on June 19.

The Works

Setting up my exhibit June 19, 2013.

I was honoured to be one of 8 artists featured at the Media Launch

http://edmonton.ctvnews.ca/video?clipId=941367&binId=1.1203433&playlistPageNum=1

http://blogs.edmontonjournal.com/2013/06/05/2o13-o6-o5-works-in-progress/

which was immediately followed by more excitement for me as an invited artist at The Works Gala in the historic Hotel McDonald. It was a chance to get dressed up, which I rarely do.

Marlena at The Works Gala

Me at the Hotel MacDonald, June 21, 2013.

Hotel MacDonald terrace

Some of the guests at The Works Gala on the beautiful Hotel MacDonald terrace.

The Works also held an artist’s panel on the main stage in Sir Winston Churchill Square, and I was one of four artists talking about our art practices and our exhibits at The Works.

The Works artists panel - Brenda Drainy (Edmonton), Marlena Wyman (Edmonton), Victoria Stanton (Montreal), Claire (MC), Betty Jo McCarvell (PEI)

The Works artists’ panel: l-r: Brenda Draney (Edmonton, AB;  me; Victoria Stanton (Montreal, Que); Clair ? (MC for the panel); Betty Jo-McCarvell (Charlottetown, PEI). 

my tent at The Works

My exhibit tent, open 11AM to 9PM daily June 20 to July 2, 2013 in Sir Winston Churchill Square at The Works Art Festival.

My exhibit tent is right beside a very fun art exhibit made by three artists from Quebec. It is a carousel made out of crowd barriers and shopping carts. My friend Leslie came to my exhibit and we went for a ride on the carousel – loads of fun!

Leslie on the shopping cart carousel

Leslie on the shopping cart carousel.

I am very happy to report that people have been contributing objects for me to add to the torsos, and some have been including stories about the objects to help complete my memory project. A talented young student from the Emily Carr University of Art & Design, Mallory Gemmel, has been photographing the torsos when I add items.

The Works 2013 - photo by Mallory Gemmel - Copy

Adding items to Female Torso at my Works exhibit “The Effect of Collected Memory on the Adorned Body”. Photograph by Mallory Gemmel.

There have been some very interesting contributions, but my favorite so far is a sticky-note message for “Tamara”. I added it to the Male Torso.

additions

Love note for Tamara on Male Torso.

There is still time to contribute objects and stories until July 2, so come on down!

My closing reception will  be held July 1 from 2PM to 4PM, and it is open to the public. I would love to see you there, and there will be lots of other fun things to do downtown on Canada Day, so come and celebrate our nation’s birthday with some art!

Posted by Marlena Wyman

