Tags

, , , , , , ,

The Works 2013 - photo by Mallory Gemmel - CopyPhoto by Mallory Gemmel

One of the unexpected results of my exhibit at The Works this summer was that I became the subject of two other artists, as did my artwork. Artists tend to be more comfortable hidden away in our studios on the production side of our artwork.  

02 Me and my torso, July 2013 - photo by Mallory GemmelPhoto by Mallory Gemmel

I was approached by Mallory Gemmel, a young student at Emily Carr University of Art & Design. She is studying photography and one of her interests is photographing artists and their work. Her interpretation is both sensitive and insightful. She helped me see my artwork with fresh eyes.

03 Me and my torso, July 2013 - photo by Mallory Gemmel (4)Photo by Mallory Gemmel

04 Me and my torso, July 2013 - photo by Mallory Gemmel (2)Photo by Mallory Gemmel

05 Me and my torso, July 2013 - photo by Mallory Gemmel (5)Photo by Mallory Gemmel

06 torso - photograph by Mallory GemmelPhoto by Mallory Gemmel

07 torso - photograph by Mallory Gemmel (2)Photo by Mallory Gemmel

My friend Karen Wall, sketched me at my closing reception at my Works exhibit. Karen is a co-founder of our sketch group, Urban Sketchers Edmonton. She is an inspiring and talented artist whose artwork takes me to another plane of existence. I am a fan.

08 Me and my torso- sketch by Karen Wall, June 2013, The WorksSketch by Karen Wall

Thank you both for your gift of art!

09 Me in my studio July 2013 - photo by Mallory GemmelPhoto by Mallory Gemmel

Posted by Marlena Wyman

