Tags

, , , , , ,

Michael and I took a road trip to Val Marie, Saskatchewan to attend the June 26th opening of my exhibit, Landing Hard: Honouring Prairie Women Settlers, at the Prairie Wind & Silver Sage Museum. The exhibit is up until September 2014.IMG_2245

IMG_2224

IMG_2228

My exhibit opened at the same time as Val Marie artist Diana Chabros‘ exhibit Postcards to Buffalo Land: Scenic Salutations and Storms of Controversy. 

IMG_2234L- R: Laureen Marchand (Board member/Gallery Chair for the Prairie Wind & Silver Sage Museum, owner of Grasslands Gallery and Val Marie artist), Diana Chabros (Val Marie artist who exhibited with me and owner of Sky Story B&B where we stayed) and moi.

IMG_2251

My exhibit was mounted in the Eco-Museum area of the building. This fox in the nature diorama seems pretty interested in the art.

Val Marie Schoolhouse Robert Berdan

I neglected to take a photograph of the exterior of the museum, which is housed in the old schoolhouse, so I found this one on-line by Robert Berdan.

You can see some of my limited edition beeswax image transfer prints that are in this exhibit in my previous post.

IMG_2319

The museum is directly adjacent to the breath-taking Grasslands National Park in Saskatchewan. All worth a visit!

(Photos by Marlena Wyman except where noted).

Posted by Marlena Wyman

 

 

 

 

